Saint Alexander Parish 75th Anniversary

This article was posted on: July 13, 2016

Parishioners of Saint Alexander Parish in Port Edwards celebrated their 75th anniversary Mass on Sunday, June 5th, with over 200 parish members in attendance.  Mass Celebrant was Bishop William Patrick Callahan of the Diocese of La Crosse and concelebrated by Father John Swing, current pastor, and Fr. Rex Zimmerman, former pastor, and assisted by Deacon Mark Quayhackx, current deacon of the parish, and Deacon Bryan Hilts, former parishioner and current director of St. Anthony Spirituality Center in Marathon.  Also present was the ‘4th Degree Honor Guard’ of the Knights of Columbus.  Special guests present were Sr. Catherine Kaiser, who was the Pastoral Associate from 1997 to 2014 at Saint Alexander, and continuous parish members since its beginning in June of 1941, including Ray Mollen, Marshall Buehler, Jerry Hutkowski, Joan palen, Walter Iwanski, and Fred Jesse.

The festivities also included a brunch with Bishop Callahan addressing the large audience of attendees and thanking them for their endless dedicated support of Saint Alexander Parish the past 75 years.

Father John Swing also used it as an opportunity to recognize the special guests and thank “Deacon Mark” and his committee for all their efforts in preparing for the celebration stating “In my 19 years as Pastor here, I’ve had endless positive experiences with our vibrant group of parishioners.  Yes, we’re perhaps not largest in numbers in our Diocese, but we’re certainly the largest in hearts.  I wish to use today to say ‘Thank You’ to each and every one of you for the joy we’ve experienced.  Plus how nice is to see not only our members that have been here for the 75 years, but also our youth that will likely be planning our future 100th anniversary.”

The Catholic Diocese of La Crosse
3710 East Ave. South
La Crosse, WI 54601

Subscriptions & Advertising 
Pam Willer

Story ideas, submission inquiries
Erik Archer

Individual Subscriptions

Find us on Facebook

Your Faith


Copyright © 2023 Diocese of La Crosse. All Rights Reserved.

To Top