October 10, 2017 – Officials

This article was posted on: October 10, 2017

The Most Reverend William Patrick Callahan, D.D., Bishop of La Crosse, makes the following announcements:

In accord with the norm of canon 553, §2, the following priests are named vicars forane (deans) for a three-year term, effective October 15, 2017:

The Very Rev. Sebastian Kolodzieczyk for the Arcadia Deanery;

The Very Rev. Justin J. Kizewski for the Chippewa Falls Deanery;

The Very Rev. James R. Kurzynski for the Durand Deanery;

The Very Rev. Derek J. Sakowski for the Eau Claire Deanery;

The Rev. Msgr. Charles D. Stoetzel for the La Crosse Deanery;

The Very Rev. Samuel A. Martin for the Marshfield Deanery;

The Very Rev. John A. Potaczek for the Tomah Deanery;

The Very Rev. James C. Weighner for the Prairie du Chien Deanery;

The Rev. Msgr. Roger J. Scheckel for the Richland Center Deanery;

The Very Rev. Daniel H. Hackel for the Stevens Point Deanery;

The Very Rev. Steven J. Brice for the Thorp Deanery;

The Rev. Msgr. Joseph G. Diermeier for the Wausau Deanery;

The Very Rev. G. Valentine Joseph for the Wisconsin Rapids Deanery.

The Reverend Amalanathan Malaiyappan, Pastor of St. Bridget Parish in Ettrick and St. Ansgar Parish in Blair, is appointed Pastor of St. Joachim Parish in Pittsville, St. James Parish in Vesper, and Holy Rosary Parish in Sigel, effective October 19, 2017.

CORRECTION:  The Reverend Robert M. Letona, Pastor of St. Paul Parish in New Lisbon, St. James Parish in Camp Douglas and St. Michael Parish in Indian Creek, is not being appointed as Pastor of St. Francis of Assisi Parish in Necedah and Our Lady of the Lake Parish in Castle Rock Lake as previously published.  He will provide the sacraments in the Extraordinary Form to the community at St. Francis of Assisi Parish at Necedah, effective October 12, 2017.

The Catholic Diocese of La Crosse
3710 East Ave. South
La Crosse, WI 54601

Subscriptions & Advertising 
Pam Willer

Story ideas, submission inquiries
Erik Archer

Individual Subscriptions

Find us on Facebook

Your Faith


Copyright © 2023 Diocese of La Crosse. All Rights Reserved.

To Top